Our Customers Come First

We are proud to be a part of the San Diego County, CA community for five decades and are passionate about providing only the highest level of service to our customers. We’re not perfect, but are always making improvements to better serve our customers. Your comments help us do just that.

Don't take our word for it; see what our recent customers have to say!

Customer Lobby
1162 Reviews
5 out of 5 stars
Sort by: Latest review first / Highest rating first
Hope S., San Diego, CA 14 Apr 2017
Great experience! Love my new TSI sport. Thank you Annie, Steve, Ryan & the GM for being so kind & helpful. I have already recommended you guys to a friend of mine. Thanks again!!
5 rate
Tina H., San Diego, CA 14 Apr 2017
Took my 2013 2.5 Jetta for 50k oil change and tire rotation. The dealership is really small which is nice. Raul, Service Express Advisor, was very helpful and efficient. Offered shuttle service for near-by shopping center if I needed. Also, came out to ask me if I wanted my car washed (He said some ...people decline. I can't imagine why-- "free" car wash!). Also, talked to me about replacing filters and was honest enough to say that the pollen filter was not that bad and didn't need changing until next time. Lastly, advised me that my car only needs oil changes every 10,000 miles upon his follow-up phone call the next day! I compare this experience to the Oil changer: same price for synthetic oil change (around $70ish), but No car wash, No tire rotation capabilities, and claimed I needed the oil changed every 3-5k miles. The only reason this is not a 5-star is because the whole process did take 2 hours. Seems like a really long time for the services but luckily the dealership is down the street from my office so I had no commute. :) Show more
4 rate
Yelp
Mike F., Carlsbad, CA 14 Apr 2017
Bill at Cook VW delivered as promised with a timely arrangement for a recall on our Golf. My daughter lives in LA and the VW dealer told her she would have to wait SIX months before having the recall work done. At Cook, we were able to set an appointment a week later and work was completed as schedu...led. A fabulous dealership. Show more
5 rate
Yelp
Robert P., Encinitas, CA 14 Apr 2017
As much as I can't stand buying a car, this dealership does everything possible to make it a hassle free process.  No super agro sales people perched like vultures watching you as you drive in; no bait and switching, what you see is what you get; no ridiculous pressure to take a test drive; no ...hounding you with calls day after day once they finagle your contact info out of you; and finally no grinding negotiations that drag on for hours when you finally decide to buy.Where they may surprise you is following up AFTER the sale just to make sure they got everything right and absolutely to your liking.I have bought from them twice and plan to buy from them again when the need arises. Show more
5 rate
Yelp
Susan D., Encinitas, CA 14 Apr 2017
The employees at Herman Cook VW are very low pressure, professional and knowledgeable about the VW line of cars.  We were very impressed when we first met salesman Jody Hamlisch, who worked very hard to find us the exact car we wanted.  He had to arrange a dealer transfer from another dealer in or...der to get us our car, and spent the time and effort to get it for us immediately.  We were impressed by the whole team at Herman Cook, and would recommend them without reservation to our friends and other potential customers. Show more
5 rate
Yelp
Katie H., Carlsbad, CA 14 Apr 2017
I had a very enjoyable car buying experience here. They made what could have been a stressful situation a pleasant one :)The salesman I worked with, Frank, was incredibly personable, patient and easygoing during the whole process. He was knowledgeable and responded right away when I called, texted, ...or had any questions. Working with him was quick and painless. Allison, the Finance Manager, was also a pleasure to work with. She was friendly, experienced and genuinely kind.I love my GTI and I'm very thankful for the harmonious experience at Herman Cook VW. Thank you again! Show more
5 rate
Yelp
Vivek G., Los Angeles, CA 14 Apr 2017
Just bought 2 VWs from here and couldn't be happier. Very supportive and knowledgeable staff, especially Jody. What a great and genuine guy! He made the buying process stress-free. The entire HCVW team worked with us every step of the way and for that we are very thankful. Wish we lived closer t...o take in for regular service. Definitely recommend. Show more
5 rate
Yelp
Jordan L., Torrey Highlands, San Diego, CA 14 Apr 2017
I just purchased a set of Continental All Terrain tires and had them Road Force balanced at Cook VW. They did an excellent job balancing the tires as there is zero vibration even at speeds exceeding 80mph. The staff is also very welcoming, friendly, and knowledgeable. I had previously completed my T...DI buyback with this dealer and they handled the transaction with ease. The entire process took 10 minutes. They also offer loaner vehicles for longer warranty repairs and have complimentary 1 hour rental vehicle if you are in for something quick but want to run and errand instead of waiting. I believe it's only $15 if you keep the car for 4 hours. This can be incredibly helpful for those times when waiting is not really an option. Show more
5 rate
Yelp
Alanna B., Encinitas, CA 14 Apr 2017
Recently I had come across a couple minor issues with my Jetta, I was also due for an oil change and typically get work done at Herman Cook. When I came in for my appointment Bill was my service advisor and really went above and beyond with helping me assess what worked needed to be done. He really ...cared about making sure no work was performed until I approved it and really cared about the safety of my car as well.I have never received such genuinely great service at a dealership before, and I will always continue to come back to Herman Cook for further repairs because of the excellent service! Show more
5 rate
Yelp
Rigdon C., Carlsbad, CA 14 Apr 2017
Honest, responsive sales support during switch to a new VW. Excellent service too. Hard working dedicated crew throughout process.
5 rate
Yelp
Questions?
Please speak with our trade advisor for more information.