Customer Testimonials

We are proud to be a part of the San Diego County, CA community for nearly six decades and are passionate about providing only the highest level of service to our customers. We’re not perfect, but are always making improvements to better serve our customers. Your comments help us do just that.

Don’t take our word for it; see what our recent customers have to say!

Google logo
Google Mar 1, 2024

As always, very helpful and efficient service!

Google logo
Google Mar 1, 2024

Love everyone there. Will not take my car to any other place.

Google logo
Google Feb 29, 2024

Very communicative, kind, knowledgeable, and able to answer my questions. Ricardo was able to let me know of the offers the office has on the services required.

Google logo
Google Feb 29, 2024

Very professional and friendly staff. Made the entire experience of selecting and buying a vehicle a nice experience. I am recommending my friends and family to make their next vehicle purchase there.

Google logo
Google Feb 27, 2024

I have bought several cars from this dealership over the years and Annie has been my sales representative each time. She knew exactly what I wanted, and got me a great deal on a used car. Alfredo Alonso in finance was professional and efficient. I would definitely buy another car from this dealership. Can’t recommend them more.

Google logo
Google Feb 23, 2024

This dealership rocks best service department and understand how to make customers happy and keep them safe and return for more

Google logo
Google Feb 20, 2024

Wonderful experience with Annie and Alfredo! 5 stars.

Google logo
Google Feb 20, 2024

In all my years of buying cars, I have never had a better experience then I had at Herman Cook VW. Jesus, the sales manager, was thoughtful, kind and provided me with great pricing and awesome finance options. He was so nice and his follow up on my questions was phenomenal and prompt. I could tell from the start that he really wanted to help me. I also want to mention Annie, a wonderful and knowledgeable sales person, who patiently explained all the features of the car and how to use them properly. She was a pleasure to work with ...

Google logo
Google Feb 16, 2024

Very helpful and courteous staff!!!

Google logo
Google Feb 16, 2024

The service manager was very welcoming and friendly when I arrived. Very professional. Regarding the work on my car, the one thing that I asked for them to look into—to remove the film from the dash display that was left on after the purchase of my vehicle—this was not done completely. After I drove away, I noticed that the film was only halfway peeled off. I peeled it off myself, but I did find this odd.

Google logo
Google Feb 16, 2024

I drive out of my way to bring my VW to this particular VW service department. They are incredibly welcoming, helpful, professional, and always get my vehicle ready quickly. They have an excellent shuttle service that makes it really easy to drop your car off. I can’t recommend them enough! Friendliest staff I have dealt with at a VW! Thanks so much!!!!!

Google logo
Google Feb 15, 2024

Service department checks for all preventive services and repairs. Happy with my service.

Google logo
Google Feb 13, 2024

Great customer service

Google logo
Google Feb 8, 2024

Very professional and friendly people at Herman Cook!!! Thank you.

Google logo
Google Feb 7, 2024

Recently purchased a previously owned VW from an out of area dealership. (WAY out) I've never owned a VW, didn't know who/where to take for servicing, but remembered driving by Herman Cook's VW sign hundreds of times. I called them the next day. After one visit, I knew I'd made the right call. I was warmly greeted by service department staff, who reviewed / clearly explained the service at-hand, asked if there were other concerns/issues, and promised to address. The waiting area is comfortable, clean, offers Wifi, business center for computer work, and vending machines ...

Google logo
Google Feb 5, 2024

I had a great experience and very friendly staff! The cars are very high quality and I recommend it to everyone!!!

Google logo
Google Feb 3, 2024

Excellent customer service

Google logo
Google Feb 3, 2024

Great service and attention to detail

Google logo
Google Jan 30, 2024

No waiting in line and the service was completed on time. Plus, just a lot of nice people.

Google logo
Google Jan 28, 2024

I checked into Encinitas VW for low tire pressure in my ID4. Found out I had 2 recalls. Ricardo in service quickly set me up with a rental, and I picked my car back up after work the next day. Another VW service location missed one of the recalls where I first had my car serviced, so the nail in my tire was a blessing. Also, Encinitas VW has several ID4 technicians. I highly recommend!

Google logo
Google Jan 26, 2024

Bill was great! Extremely patient and detailed. Explained every step of the process with no surprises. Thank you everyone at Herman Cook VW❤️

Google logo
Google Jan 25, 2024

Great service - clear about what needs to be done at fair prices. My go-to place for service

Google logo
Google Jan 25, 2024

The team at Herman Cook are always super helpful, honest and go the extra mile. They’ve always been great at dealing with warranty issues without hassle. The service team are rockstars and I always enjoy my interactions with Allan at the front desk.

Google logo
Google Jan 23, 2024

The team does a good job providing a more personal level of service.

Google logo
Google Jan 21, 2024

Alan was great. Excellent service

Google logo
Google Jan 19, 2024

The Sales team (Efrain) worked with me to give me the price I was willing to pay. Efrain and the Finance rep worked efficiently to complete the deal. Thank you!

Google logo
Google Jan 19, 2024

Ricardo took great care of me and our VW Altas! I’d recommend working with Ricardo and this dealership for any of your VW vehicle service needs.

Google logo
Google Jan 18, 2024

I always have a great experience at VW Herman Cook. Everyone is so friendly and honest. Thank you!

Google logo
Google Jan 17, 2024

Excellent service!

Google logo
Google Jan 16, 2024

The experience with Herman Cook VW Service was perfect. I had an appointment and they took my car in on time and finished as expected. Recommended.

Google logo
Google Jan 16, 2024

All the guys at VW are so nice. They are quick and get the job done as fast as possible.

Google logo
Google Jan 15, 2024

My favorite VW agency in San Diego! Great service and attention to customer 🙏🧡

Google logo
Google Jan 14, 2024

I have used the repair services here twice and both times I was impressed with the timeliness and professionalism. I know I could have taken my car to another shop for cheaper but it would have been more time more questions and probably not as thorough a service. I definitely recommend these guys the shop. Also their shuttle service so I don't have to burden a friend or family member their shuttle is quick and also on time. Thank you all you there at Herman Cook Thank you very much.

Google logo
Google Jan 13, 2024

Ricardo is the best! Great customer service! He goes above and beyond very helpful.

Google logo
Google Jan 13, 2024

Herman Cook did a fenomenal job on finding the problem.

Google logo
Google Jan 12, 2024

Conor Cook and team did a great job getting me the exact car I wanted. Finance was quick and easy.

Google logo
Google Jan 10, 2024

Service department is amazing. Everything they've fixed has stayed fixed and they've never recommended anything I didn't need. Repairs have been faster than expected. Communication is great. I've only used the service dept here, but because of them if I get a new VW, it will be from here.

Google logo
Google Jan 8, 2024

The service at Hermann Cook is exceptional. I have had several Volkswagens and have serviced the cars at another local dealership. Herman Cook service team is way friendlier and more responsive. Highly recommended!

Google logo
Google Jan 7, 2024

Always friendly service. I appreciate the ease and availability of the appointment as well.

Google logo
Google Jan 7, 2024

We purchased a CPO 2020 Jetta today from Efrain H. We truly appreciate the straightforward answers to our questions and the flexibility when it came to additional payment options remotely. After being frustrated with other dealers pricing tactics, Efrain and the team at Herman Cook (including sales manager Jesus L) were a breath of fresh air. If circumstances ever lead me to needing a new car in the San Diego area, I would start my process here without hesitation.

Google logo
Google Jan 6, 2024

Always accommodating and great work!

Google logo
Google Jan 5, 2024

Fast, efficient and courteous employees. Especially Allen. Thank you all for a wonderful visit. ❤️

Google logo
Google Jan 4, 2024

Always greeted by friendly staff and techs who keep my 2013 Beetle running smoothly. I also appreciate their clean, comfortable waiting area.

Google logo
Google Jan 4, 2024

Easy and reliable services. They offer best prices in the town.

Google logo
Google Jan 3, 2024

The service was timely and I was able to have my car back in one day.

Google logo
Google Jan 3, 2024

Great dealership! They were very responsive online and then very helpful when I came to check out the vehicle I was interested in. Bill was a solid sales associate and answered all questions in as much detail as needed. All around great car buying experience and would go through them again.

Google logo
Google Jan 2, 2024

(Translated by Google) Excellent attention from the moment you enter you feel very welcome (Original) Excelente atención desde que entras te sientes muy bienvenido

Google logo
Google Jan 1, 2024

Great service, fast and all the personnel was extremely nice and helpful.

Google logo
Google Dec 30, 2023

Set appointment for check engine light. Allan in the service department assisted me and and communicated what the issue was and VW took care of the problem. Allan’s customer service is excellent

Google logo
Google Dec 30, 2023

VW Encinitas (Herman cook) is the model for how all the other dealerships should be. The service people and manager have their desk right up front, not hidden behind a wall. Your greeted as you walk in the door. Myself and others I know with VW's drive past closer locations just for the great service at Herman Cook.

Google logo
Google Dec 30, 2023

Excellent professional service! Ricardo, thank you!

Google logo
Google Dec 29, 2023

Amazing service, transparency and integrity. JoJo stayed late for us to complete the sale and expedited the paperwork so we could be on our way home ASAP. Everyone was friendly and accommodating. Well done Herman Cook. Double high fives all around.

Google logo
Google Dec 29, 2023

Friendly staff and helped us find the right car and best deal for us. Did a lot of the paperwork in advance so we were able to minimize the time sitting in the dealership.

Google logo
Google Dec 23, 2023

Very professional personalized service I highly recommend this place

Google logo
Google Dec 23, 2023

Alan was efficient and informative

Google logo
Google Dec 22, 2023

Great sales and service team.

Google logo
Google Dec 22, 2023

It’s the people — Eric, Ricardo, Alan, and the mechanics who find the problem(s) and fix it! Customer service is responsive. I love these guys and am grateful for their care.

Google logo
Google Dec 21, 2023

Ricardo was kind, clear with explanations of the services provided, and not pushy about future suggestions. You can tell he enjoys his work and is good at it. My only negative comment is regarding price. The car battery seemed pretty high in cost, but that’s obviously unrelated to the service. I would happily take my car back to Herman Cook.

Google logo
Google Dec 21, 2023

Able to take my appointment on short notice and provided a ride to and from work to make dropping the car off a breeze. Had been going to Carlsbad for years and so glad I made the switch to HC VW.

Google logo
Google Dec 20, 2023

Excellent service and courteous staff. Will definitely return for service when/ if needed.

DealerRater logo
DealerRater Jan 14, 2021

Outstanding experience with Herman Cook! Let me start by shouting out JoJo our sales associate and her finance manager Linda. We didn't know either of them when we bought a used RAV4. But after that amazing experience (they trusted us to hold the car while we drove five hours to go get it!) we knew we wanted to lease our Tiguan from them. In this day and age, customer service is, at best, an 8 out of 10. But JoJo and Linda gave us 10 out of 10 and we couldn't be more pleased! Who doesn't loathe buying a car? Well ...

Read at DealerRater

DealerRater logo
DealerRater Dec 31, 2020

Purchased some wipers, started to get them out of the boxes, then someone from service offered to put them on for me. I told him thank you for the great service. My first time there. I shall come back!

Read at DealerRater

DealerRater logo
DealerRater Nov 10, 2020

I recently leased a 2021 Atlas from this dealership during their sign and drive promo, Lisa my sales rep was a delight to work with. Linda the finance manager was easy to work with as well, wasn't pushy and guided me in any extra packages. I was in and out in less than an hour. Comparing the deal from other VW dealerships I got I'm happy I chose this location.

Read at DealerRater